Entries now being accepted for the 2018 CAJ Awards program

    December 11, 2018

    The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce entries are now being accepted for the 2018 CAJ Awards program, featuring Canada's top investigative journalism award, the Don McGillivray Award.

    The deadline for entries is Jan. 14, 2019.

    Members always get the best rates and those considering an entry are encouraged to become a CAJ member as part of entering the awards. For example, CAJ members eligible to submit an individual entry into the Community Media or Community Broadcast categories will have their entry fee waived.

    "The past calendar year has seen Canadian journalists continue to respond to newsroom closures cutbacks and attrition in the best way they know how – by continuing to produce the kind of journalism that affects change, changes opinions and makes our communities better places to live," said CAJ president Karyn Pugliese. "The CAJ Awards is one of the most rewarding programs offered by our association and we encourage all those journalists who did good work in 2018 to enter."

    The CAJ Awards finalists will be announced by the mid- to end of March 2019, with the winners announced at the 2019 CAJ Conference scheduled for May 3-5, 2019 in Winnipeg.

    The CAJ is Canada's largest national professional organization for journalists from all media, representing members across the country. The CAJ's primary roles are to provide public-interest advocacy and high-quality professional development for its members.

    General awards questions can always be submitted to

    Canadian Association of Journalists