Call for entries: Canadian Journalism Foundation's 2018 awards program

    January 16, 2018

    To recognize the outstanding work of journalists and news organizations across the country and provide opportunities for emerging talent, The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is now accepting entries for its 2018 awards program. The deadline for all award submissions is Feb. 16, 2018.

    "The past year has shone a spotlight on the importance of quality journalism to a vital, energetic society and to the democratic institutions that serve us," says Wayne Parrish, chair of the CJF awards committee. "As traditional media face financial pressures and emerging digital players struggle to carve out a sustainable niche, celebrating Canada's journalists and journalism across all media becomes a vital rallying cry not only for the entire industry, but arguably for the country itself."

    The awards now open for submissions are:

    CJF-Facebook Journalism Project News Literacy Award (new)
    This new award celebrates efforts to encourage Canadians to understand and critically assess the quality of news in their community as well as the practices that underpin factual reporting as key contributions to Canadian democracy. The winning organization will receive a $10,000 prize. Read the award details.

    CJF Jackman Award for Excellence in Journalism
    This award honours a Canadian organization that embodies exemplary journalism with a resulting impact on the community it serves. There are two winners, one for large media and one for small. Read the award details.

    Lifetime Achievement Award
    The award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution to journalism in Canada. The recipient will have demonstrated, throughout his/her career, a commitment to the highest journalistic standards and ideals. His/her work and contribution to the field and society should serve as a model that inspires excellence in others. We encourage nominations from all categories of journalism. Read the award details.

    The Landsberg Award
    In partnership with the Canadian Women's Foundation, this award recognizes a working journalist doing exceptional research, analysis and writing through a gender lens about women's equality issues. Journalists working in print, broadcast and online news reporting are eligible to apply. The award is named after Michele Landsberg—award-winning Canadian journalist, author, social activist and feminist. The award recipient will receive a $5,000 prize from the Canadian Women's Foundation. Read the award details.

    CJF-CBC Indigenous Journalism Fellowships
    These fellowships allow two Indigenous journalists early in their careers (one to 10 years of experience) to explore issues of interest while being hosted by CBC News for one month at its Indigenous Centre in Winnipeg. A stipend of $3,000, all associated travel and accommodation costs, and a per diem for meals and other reasonable expenses will be covered by the CJF. Thank you to CN and individual donors Rosemary Speirs, CJF honorary governor, and Isabel Bassett, former chair and CEO of TVO, for their generous support of these fellowships. Read the award details.

    All recipients will be recognized at the annual CJF Awards (#CJFawards) at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto on June 14. Early-bird rates for tickets and tables are available until January 31.

    Canadian Journalism Foundation