CRTC to add new area codes in four provinces

    June 1, 2016

    10-digit local dialing coming to New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador

    The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) today launched processes to add new area codes in the regions currently served by:

    - 236, 250, 604 and 778 in British Columbia;
    - 418 and 581 in Quebec;
    - 506 in New Brunswick; and
    - 709 in Newfoundland and Labrador.

    Since New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador currently have 7-digit local dialing, the introduction of new area codes in these provinces will require a transition to 10-digit local dialing. This will ensure that all local calls are routed to the correct area code.

    The CRTC is establishing relief planning committees to evaluate various options and make recommendations. Those interested in participating in these processes can contact the Canadian Numbering Administrator (CNA) by telephone at 613-563-7242 or visit

    Quick Facts

    - The CNA administers the distribution of phone numbers in Canada on behalf of the CRTC.
    - The CNA has advised the CRTC that area codes will be needed in the coming years to meet the growing demand for new numbers.
    - Two provinces will transition from 7-digit local dialing to 10-digit local dialing in the next few years, namely New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador.
    - As part of the process, the relief planning committees will take the appropriate steps to ensure a smooth transition to 10-digit dialing.
    - Presently, northwest Ontario, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon still have 7-digit local dialing.